Get Involved

At Cru, there are a number of ways to get involved, from large group weekly meetings to smaller Connection Groups and regular social events, there is something for everyone.  Whether you are a Christian student or not, we want you to feel welcome.

2019 Spring Break: Hurricane Michael Relief Trip:

Through GAiN, in partnership with Cru, join other university students on a week-long trip to the Florida Panhandle to help relieve suffering, restore dignity, and reveal hope to those affected by Hurricane Michael.

Cost: $575 This includes lodging, insurance, supplies for relief work, transportation, some meals and T-Shirt. ($250 goes to GAiN and $325 comes to Cru at UConn)

Type of work: Gutting homes, Debris removal, Tree and brush clearing, Distribution of aid/supplies

Lodging: We are lodging at the Edgewater Beach Resort, staying in Golf Villas. Each unit sleeps 6 and has a kitchen with utensils, so you can buy groceries and make meals if they like. We're also encourage you to eat at local restaurants to help support the economy of Panama City.
11212 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407

Schedule:
Friday: Depart UConn by lunch time (talk with me if this timing is an issue)

  • We will drive from UConn to Southwest Virginia on Friday, stay the night in a hotel and continue to the rest of the way to Florida on Saturday morning.

Saturday: arrive at Edgewater (Check-in from noon-10pm)
Sunday: orientation and training from noon-6pm
Monday-Friday: Work days- we will have one day off during the week, either Wed or Fri, but we're still determining which day it will be.
Saturday: Check-out by 10am and departure (We will arrive back in Storrs on Sunday 3/24)
***Evenings will include meals together, campus times to talk about the day and Sonic runs.

Next Steps: 1. Email Scott if you are coming. 2. Apply for the trip HERE (be sure to register for the week of 3/16-3/23)

Connection Groups

Smaller Bible study groups to help you connect with others in Cru and grow deeper in your relationship with Christ. Find the one that best fits your schedule!

IMG_9539.jpg

Women's Group (Monday's at 7:30pm)

This group, led by Kaitlyn Yeh and Leah Jackman will meet every Monday night at 7:30.

For more information email:

Kaitlyn.Yeh@uconn.edu or Leah.Jackman@uconn.edu

IMG_9541.jpg

Men's Group (Wednesday's at 8:30pm)

This group, led by Justin Vampatella and Justin Wiles meets every Wednesday at 8:30pm.

For more information email:

Justin.Vampatella@uconn.edu or Justin.Wiles@uconn.edu

IMG_9538.jpg

Women's Group (Tuesday's at 7pm

This group, led by Christina Ekholm and Kirstyn Lopiano meets every Thursday at 7pm.

For more information email:

Christina.Ekholm@uconn.edu or Kirstyn.Lopiano@uconn.edu

IMG-1525.JPG

Men's Group (Tuesday's at 7pm)

This group will be led by Kyle Wietsma, in Oak Hall.

For more information email:

Kyle.Wietsma@cru.org

IMG_5548.jpg

Women's Group (Wednesday's at 5pm)

Led by Angelique and Sabrina, this group will meet every Wednesday night at 5pm in Oak.

For more information email:

Sabrina.Tang@uconn.edu or Angelique.Cavagnet@cru.org

 
 
 
 
 
 

Prayer

 
 
 

At Cru at UConn we place a huge emphasis on the power and importance of prayer.  Check our calendar for opportunities to pray for our campus, our community and our world.

 
 
 

Beyond UConn

Cru is a international movement with plenty of ways to get involved, from mission trips to internships to career opportunities. Learn more at Cru's Opportunities Page.